Posted by: Amanda | June 30, 2008

A First Attempt at Cake Decorating

For my sister, Faustina’s, fifth birthday, I offered to make and decorate a cake for her. Since it was my first time decorating a cake, I wanted to keep it simple. So, I did a some research online, mostly involving this website, and Wilton cake decorating, and I was on my way to creating the first cake that I can claim as my own creation entirely.

I think that Faustina’s ladybug cake turned out pretty well. Although, had I known that black and red are the two most difficult colors to get a “true to color” frosting (and that those two dyes are more prone to making frosting bitter), I may not have picked a ladybug as my first project. When everything was said and done, however, the cake had been devoured.

Leave a Reply

Categories

