Posted by: Amanda | November 21, 2008

7 Quick Takes Friday, Volume 2

Another Friday of quick takes.  You can see a list of others who are participating in “7 Quick Takes Friday” at Conversion Diary.

1. Gabriel is back to his normal self nearly.  As I type, he is taking his first normal nap since Tuesday.  I am glad to have reclaimed some amount of “free time.”

2. I have only been out of my home one time since Monday, which was to take Gabriel to the doctor’s office, a mere mile from where we live.  This is not as disheartening as it would be in the spring, summer, or fall, as we have not been missing much:  it has been snowing or raining most of the time and about thirty degrees outside during the day.  I can understand why people can be plagued by Seasonal Affective Disorder.

3. J.R., Gabriel, and I are still house/apartment hunting.  We will be checking out a brand new, never-been-lived-in apartment on Monday.  Moving to this apartment would be a lateral move as far as size and amenities go, but we would gain a better-balanced budget, which is important to us in these “dire economic times.”

The first three were written during Gabriel’s nap time, the following four post-bedtime.

4.   Gabriel and I went on a major grocery shopping trip today, as there had not been any groceries bought, other than a few bananas and some milk by J.R., since early last week.  I would like to recommend that anyone out there who is not shopping sales, using coupons, and Shortcuts.com look into doing so if they are interested in saving money.  My purchase totaled $51.02 today, I saved $19.42 with manufacturer coupons, and $18.56 by purchasing sale items.  It takes a little planning, but I like knowing that I have stretched our grocery budget by shopping smart.

5. The first “perk” of being twenty-five has arrived:  J.R. and I will be enjoying a 15% savings on our auto insurance over the previous term.  This may sound inconsequential to some, but the average cost of auto insurance in Michigan is over $1,000 per year.  We’ll take what we can get.

6.  After my week of caring for a sick child around the clock, J.R. pointed out my obvious failure at house keeping.  Does everyone’s husband wait until the worst possible moment when she has her best excuses as to why things are not getting done to voice his concerns?  Honestly, I was able to let it roll off my back because I am due for my semi-annual “you don’t help me around the house enough!” break-down/fit.

7.  My television-watching self cannot help but say:  Boo!  Pushing Daisies should not be canceled, I enjoy  the show, and they have opened up so many doors that probably will not be resolved before the end.  Also, what is up with the new storyline on Ghost Whisperer?  I was content with the comfortable routine of each episode.  To end on a happier note:  my favorite sitcom, Scrubs, is scheduled to return in January, which brings a touch of goodness (however inconsequential) to all of the blah in this particular quick take.

Leave a Reply

Categories

