Posted by: Amanda | November 22, 2008

Pet Meme

1. What is the first pet you remember? A female tabby cat that I named, “Mutt” because my dad liked referring to most dogs and cats as mutts.  I am not sure how I old I was when we got her, but I know that we had her before my brother Chad was born, so I was less than three years old.  We had a dog (yellow lab/golden retriever mix) that I named King Tulip – because he liked to lie in the flower bed where tulips were planted – around this same time as well.

2. How many different kinds of pets have you owned? If we count horses and livestock as pets, than six.  Dogs, cats, horses, goats, a lamb, and fish.  My parents raised turkeys and chickens as well, but I never considered them to be pets.

3. What was your strangest pet? None of the pets that I have owned seem strange to me, but I am sure that some people would consider horses, goats, and a lamb kind of different to keep as pets.

4. What is your dream pet? Any pet that is well behaved/well mannered and is relatively easy to care for.  Also, they should be cuddly, to the extent that is appropriate for the animal.

5. What is your nightmare pet? A pet that inflicts harm/injury upon people purposefully.

6. Your Best/funniest pet story. My cat Si was the calmest, best-mannered cat around large groups of people.  I credit this to the fact that I took him all sorts of places when he was a kitten.  Most people take their dogs to sporting events, etc. – but I took Si (I was eleven years old at the time).  Oftentimes people would look into my cat carrier expecting to see a small dog, but they found my Siamese-mix kitten dozing instead.  I even had a leash and small harness on which I could take Si for “walks” if I so desired.  Si made so many trips to school, the fair, and other events that I think most people who knew me during junior high and high school, knew Si as well.  Even people who declared themselves “not cat/pet people” admitted that they would not mind having a cat if all of them were like Si.

7. Tell your worst/saddest pet story.
I made the choice to put my horse, Holly, down in April of this year.  To say the least, it was a very difficult time for me.

8. Did you ever have a scary animal experience?
My horse, Holly, broke the cross ties once.  Instead of the rope breaking, however, she snapped the entire wooden post.  As horses are prone to do, she became very scared and drug the post around with her for a minute or two until the rope broke.  She ended up with a few stitches, but that was it.  I remember thinking that she was going to break a leg or something terrible as the event was taking place, however.  Come to think of it, essentially all of my “scary animal experiences” have to do with horses, but that is bound to happen when you are dealing with 1,000+ pound animals.

9. What was your favorite pet?
I cannot choose one.  I owned my horse Holly for twelve years, she was one of the nicest horses that I have ever known.  Her daughter, Jubilee, I have owned from her birth (over eleven years).  My cat, Si, was a great cat for the nine years that I owned him before he came up missing one day.  My dog of seven years, Angel, is a pretty good dog as well.

10. What did you really want to tell us about pets that didn’t fit in the other questions?
Apartment living has become a way of life for me since we got married in 2006, I really miss having my animals around me on a daily basis though.  Hopefully it will not be too much longer before J.R. and I have animals living at our home again.

Leave a Reply

Categories

