Posted by: Amanda | November 26, 2008

Thanksgiving 2008

Tomorrow J.R., Gabriel, and I will pack up and head north to my aunt and uncle’s house for Thanksgiving.  After having spent last Thanksgiving driving home from North Carolina, I am looking forward to spending this Thanksgiving with my family eating a traditional Thanksgiving meal (last year I had beans and rice, and J.R. had Burger King because almost nothing was open).  One of my favorite parts of Thanksgiving with my mother’s family is the immense amount and variety of food with the (relatively) small output on behalf of each family.  Everyone brings a dish or two to pass, which yields a perfect Thanksgiving dinner.  Additionally, pretty much everything is homemade from scratch that appears on the Thanksgiving table:  turkey (my parents raised a few turkeys this year especially for the key feasting holidays ahead), mashed potatoes, rolls, corn, sweet potatoes, pumpkin pie, and everything else that adds up to “the works.”  I’ll be honest, I have been to restaurants for a holiday meal or two, and they cannot compete with the likes of the feast that I will behold tomorrow.

Of course, the best part of Thanksgiving is the fact that I will be spending it with family, and that my own little family will have most of the day to spend together after the meal.  Additionally, I plan to reflect upon all that I have to be thankful for in my life, as God has blessed me abundantly.

Responses

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you, Amanda!

    It is good to have one day in a year designated for the expression of gratefulness. We do not have one here in Malaysia. So wise of Abraham Lincoln!

    The world would be less chaotic, it would be a more peaceful place if each one of us has the awareness in him that there are plenty for which he should be thankful for.

    To remind myself of my good fortune, I have drawn up a list for my daily expression of giving thanks.

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2008/10/30/now-is-as-good-a-time-as-any-for-thankfulness


Leave a Reply

Categories

