Posted by: Amanda | March 7, 2010

The Story of Joshua’s Birth – Part I

This post has been awhile in the making. Partially due to the fact that I had a baby a few months back, and partially due to the fact that I had to come to terms with my natural birth plan turned cesarean section experience. The miracle of Joshua – my body grew a whole, tiny, perfect person – is something to be proud of, even if the birth itself was not my ideal.

October 11, 2009

It’s Sunday, so J.R., Gabriel, and I head off to mass in the morning. After mass, we grab a bite to eat, and go shopping. Our shopping experience lasts pretty much all day. I am on my feet a lot. Surprisingly, I did not notice any contractions despite being over a week beyond my due date and had been having them semi-regularly the week before. I stay up after J.R. and Gabriel turn in for the night, tidying up around the house because I have a feeling that tomorrow is going to be the big day.

October 12, 2009

6:00 a.m. – I wake to use the restroom. Despite experiencing regular contractions, I am able to get some on and off sleep over the next two hours.

8:15 a.m. – J.R. asks me if he should call into work and start his FMLA leave. I tell him to wait a bit longer. After all, I had been having semi-regular contractions on and off for a couple of weeks and there was nothing unmanageable about these contractions.

9:00 a.m. – J.R. calls in to work, telling them that he will not be in because “it looks like today is the day.” I had been having contractions every 15-20 minutes over the last hour. My contractions continue to grow in intensity.

11:30 a.m. or so – My mother-in-law arrives to pick up Gabriel. I would have liked to have spent a bit more time with him before leaving for the hospital, but she had errands to run in a city about an hour and a half away. We did not think it would be a good idea to risk keeping him that long incase things picked up. I was still having contractions about every 15 minutes.

12:00 p.m. – J.R. and I have lunch. I had toast. I remembered to drink plenty of water after having ended up dehydrated while in labor with Gabriel.

Sometime between 12:30 p.m.-1:00 p.m. –  J.R. loads everything in the car. We leave for the hospital since it is about an hour away, though I do not feel like things are very urgent yet.

1:30p.m.-2:30p.m. – We make several stops between home and the hospital. I use the restroom at every place that we stop (gas station, McDonalds for J.R., Walgreens, and Target). The contractions seem to be picking up now. I remember there being one that seemed the worst up to that time at Target.

3:00 p.m. – Arrive at the hospital. The nurses seem unconvinced that I am actually very far in my labor, though it occurs to me that they deal with labor, delivery, and birth every day, so I mentally cut them a break.

3:15 p.m.* – My nurse, who had previously been going over all of the boring triage details, announces that she needs to get me to a birthing room NOW, because I am going to “have this baby.” I am dilated to 9.

3:16 p.m.* – J.R. spots my nurse speed walking down the hallway (he had left to get my bags, etc.), and briefly wonders if something is wrong. We call our families to tell them that we are at the hospital, as well as the good news about my status.

3:18 p.m.* – I think to myself how AWESOME my birth experience has been thus far. I had no idea that I was even in transition.

3:20 p.m.* – I become the talk of the hospital labor and delivery unit. I am known as “the lucky one with the ‘easy’ labor.”

* Some of the times listed are to show an approximate time frame only, as I was not live blogging the labor and birth.

Responses

  1. […] The Story of Joshua’s Birth – Part II If you missed it, read Part I here. […]

  2. […] Part I and Part II if you missed […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

