Posted by: Amanda | March 20, 2010

The Story of Joshua’s Birth – Part III

Read Part I and Part II if you missed them.

11:05* – The labor pain actually becomes unbearable. I am not sure whether it was the pitocin kicking in, or the fact that I could no longer tell myself that my contractions were bringing me closer to my baby, or a combination of both. This was the worst part of either of my labors.

This was all complicated by the fact that I received a catheter (I am still not healed completely),  and other unpleasant pre-cesarean section procedures done.

11:20* – The doctor who performs my c-section and I walk to surgery. She gives me nice compliments about how I am “all baby.” Soon we will realize how true that statement is.

11:25* – I receive the blessed spinal. I immediately understand why so many women speak so highly of epidurals.

11:35 – I marvel at how Emily was exactly right about how approximately a dozen people can act like nothing is out of the ordinary as I lie there, half-naked.

11:40 p.m. – J.R. is allowed into the room with me.

11:52 p.m. – Our son, Joshua Christopher, is born. He weighs a whopping ten pounds, six ounces and measures twenty-two inches long. He’s perfect, having suffered no complications despite the prolonged labor.

11:57 p.m.* – My doctor tells me that I am an excellent candidate for a VBAC if I have any more children. Thank God.

October 13, 2009

12:20 a.m.* – Everyone is doing well enough that I am able to hold Joshua and breastfeed him for the first time.

12:30 a.m. & onward* – People keep asking me if I can move my legs, mostly I cannot until I awake in the morning. It is probably good that I did not have much feeling/movement in my lower body, because I felt like I had been hit by a truck in the morning, and I really needed my sleep that night.

1:00 a.m.* – After finishing nursing, Joshua receives his first bath, etc.

1:30 a.m. – Exhausted from our big day, J.R., Joshua, and I go to sleep.

Leave a Reply

Categories

