Posted by: Amanda | November 7, 2010

Random thoughts for a Sunday

  • I noticed that a local salon/spa is advertising a special price if you book a three hour massage. Are there people out there who have time for a three hour massage? And if one does have a three hour block of time, wouldn’t a one hour massage and two hours of other activities be even better? Maybe it’s just me.
  • Due to several weekends worth of scheduling conflicts, Joshua’s first birthday party is next Sunday. Which is an appropriate day for it, since it will be the one year anniversary of his baptism.It seems like I spent far more time preparing for Gabriel’s first birthday party, I would like to think that this is because I have mastered the basic formulation and execution of good parties for young children: visiting, food, and presents. I know that this is not earth-shattering information, but I think it bears repeating: keep things simple.
  • In the vein of keeping things simple: Joshua’s birthday cake should take about 1/10th the amount of time that Gabriel’s did to decorate. I am making one 13″x9″ cake, decorating it with green frosting, and using our Little People to create a farm scene. I may get creative with some of my autumn leaf-shaped sprinkles.
  • For a second time, I have managed to smash my wedding/engagement ring to the point that the band is no longer even remotely circular. The first time I took my ring in to be repaired for this malady, the employee said that they had never seen such a thing. The kicker:  I do not know how it has happened either time. It happens while I am wearing my ring, and my finger is unharmed.
Leave a Reply

Categories

