Posted by: Amanda | November 9, 2010

Hummus from Memory

I am a little embarrassed to admit that up until recently, I was buying our hummus pre-made from the store. Had I known how simple it is to make hummus, I wouldn’t have been doing so. After only a handful of attempts at making hummus, from a couple of different recipes, I can create hummus from scratch from memory now.

My recipe looks something like this:

  • 2 – 15/16oz cans of garbanzo beans (chick peas)*
  • 3 tablespoons tahini
  • 1/2-3/4 cup liquid from the garbanzo beans
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • Several cloves minced garlic
  • Juice from 1-2 lemons

I just throw everything in my Vitamix, and then blend on high until it has been mixed well. I save a little extra liquid from the garbanzos, and add it if necessary to reach the desired consistency. If you wish, you can also add other ingredients to the mixture to achieve different flavors of hummus, for example: cayenne pepper, sweet peppers, basil; the list is probably as varied as there are different taste preferences for hummus.

 

* Fun fact: Gabriel calls garbanzos “yummy beans” and will eat them plain.

Leave a Reply

Categories

