Posted by: Amanda | November 11, 2010

Thrifty Thursday: October 2010 Natural Product Deals

image

Last month, Rite Aid ran many great deals on natural products. If I had paid full retail price for these items, I would have spent $132.65, plus sales tax. By shopping sales, combining store and manufacturer coupons, and submitting single check rebates, I was able to purchase everything above for $4.46, plus sales tax.*

In order to assist you in understanding some of the terms used below:

SCR: Single Check Rebate, I enter my receipts online, and Rite Aid sends me a check the following month.

UP Rewards: These are essentially coupons that print at the bottom of your receipt, they may be used on your next purchase.

BOGO: Buy one, get one free.

Items Purchased:

  • Tom’s of Maine Deodorant: $2.99 ($1.00 manufacturer coupon, $1.00 SCR) = $0.99
  • Tom’s of Maine Children’s Toothpaste: $3.49 ($1.00 manufacturer coupon) = $2.49
  • Renpure Organics Shampoo and Conditioner – $6.99/ea (BOGO sale, $3 Rite Aid coupon, Received $2 in UP Rewards) = $1.99/2*
  • Bee M.D. Organic Cough Drops: $2.99 (Sale price $2.49, $2.49 SCR) = $0
  • Children’s Oscilloccinum: Regular price $6.99 (Sale price: $4.99, $1 manufacturer coupon, $4.99 SCR) = +$1.00
  • Children’s Chestal: Regular price $6.29 (On sale for $4.99, used $1 manufacturer coupon, $4.99 SCR) = +$1.00
  • Adult Chestal: $10.49/each (BOGO sale, used (2) $1/1 manufacturer coupons, received $4 in UP rewards) = $4.49/2
  • Adult Oscilloccinum: $19.99/each (BOGO sale, used (2) $3/1 Rite Aid coupons, (2) $2/1 manufacturer coupons, received $4 in UP rewards, coupled with the Adult Chestal above, I was able to use a $5/$25 coupon) = $1/2.
  • NeilMed Neti Pot: Regular price $9.99 (On sale for $6.99, $2.00 manufacturer coupon, $6.99 SCR) = +$2.00
  • NeilMed Sinus Rinse: Regular price $9.99 (On sale for $6.99, $1.50 manufacturer coupon, $6.99 SCR) = +$1.50
  • Aveeno Stylers: Regular price $7.49/each (On sale for $5.99, (2) $1.50/1 manufacturer coupons, (2) $4/1 Rite Aid coupons, $2 in UP Rewards) = +$1.00/2

I netted a total savings of $128.19 over the course of the month on these products. I spent about two hours researching sales and printing coupons, etc., so couponing saved me about $64 per hour in this instance. At $64 per hour, I consider couponing to be well-worth my time investment!**

* I have submitted a manufacturer’s “Try Me Free” rebate for the Renpure Organics purchase, which will turn my Renpure purchase into a $5 money maker if I receive the full $6.99 rebate for the Renpure item that I purchased at full price. This would mean that my entire Rite Aid natural products purchases for October, 2010 would net a $2.53 profit (minus sales tax), rather than the $4.46 total mentioned above.

** This was a better than average month in terms of total savings, but even at a “worst case scenario,” couponing/savvy shopping saves me at least $30 per hour.

Responses

  1. I know this is an old blog of yours but this is great! I also think I just learned something new… so if it is a BOGO sale you can still use two coupons (one for each product) even if one is free?? I hope that made sense! I am so curious and if that’s right, I can’t believe the savings I’ve been missing out on!!!

    • How you may use coupons on BOGO sales depends on the store’s policy. I’m not sure which stores you shop at, but I can tell you the policies of the stores that I shop at most often re: coupon use and BOGO sales. I haven’t seen any stores honor coupons on BOGO sales significantly differently than those outlined below.

      Rite Aid allows customers to use up to two manufacturer and two store coupons on a BOGO sale, that’s one manufacturer and one store coupon per item.

      I’m less familiar with Walgreens, but I know that they would allow you to use at least two manufacturer coupons on a BOGO sale. Walgreens also allows customers to use BOGO coupons in conjunction with a BOGO sale. As far as I know, they are the last major chain store to allow the use of a BOGO coupon with a BOGO sale.

      Meijer doesn’t allow customers to use coupons on items that are free. If you buy four items as part of a BOGO sale, however, you are able to use coupons on the two items that you are paying for, or even a BOGO coupon on those two items that don’t scan as free.

      I hope that this helps you out! If you have any other questions, let me know.


Leave a Reply

Categories

