Posted by: Amanda | February 4, 2011

Valentine’s Day: Love Thy Neighbor

Unlike many people, Valentine’s Day didn’t hold any particularly significant meaning in my life. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed Valentine’s Day; it’s just not a holiday that I ever poured myself into, like Christmas or Easter, for example. As a child, I enjoyed the Valentine’s Day parties at school, as well as picking out, making, and addressing valentines to my classmates. I also recall creating the containers which would hold the valentines from my classmates. Those were fun times.

As a Catholic, I was taught the story of St. Valentine. I recall writing letters to the elderly in nursing homes as a teenager as part of a youth group Valentine’s Day activity, and I think that was the beginning of me truly starting to understand what Valentine’s Day is all about.

Ultimately, I see Valentine’s Day as a holiday in which we are supposed to remember our love of neighbor. More so than the love between couples that it seems the holiday tends to be focused upon in our culture. Now that I am a married adult, I like to think of my husband on Valentine’s Day too, but I try to recognize (or at least pray for) all of my family and friends on this day.

This year I am planning to make a  point of  reminding those whom I love in my life of how much they mean to me, by sending out Valentine’s Day cards from Shutterfly. Shutterfly also offers Valentine’s Day gifts and personalized photo gifts, which are some my favorite gifts for those whom I love.

In the interest of full disclosure, Shutterfly is giving bloggers 25 free Valentine’s Day cards in exchange for blogging about what Valentine’s Day means to them. Visit here for more information on the promotion.

Leave a Reply

Categories

