Posted by: Amanda | May 21, 2011

How I’m Preparing for the Flats and Handwashing Challenge

On Monday, May 23, I’ll begin the Flats and Handwashing Challenge. All of my diapers have been prepped and ready for a few days now, which was really just the beginning of my preparation.

After washing my first dozen flats, I timed how long it took them to dry:

  • Indoors: 3 hours
  • Outdoors, slightly breezy/not particularly warm or sunny: less than 1.5 hours
  • I also timed the dry time in my dyer, which isn’t allowed for the challenge, but it was a mere 15 minutes.

The most important preparation that I have done for the Flats and Handwashing Challenge so far is the actual testing of the diapers. I have tried out a few different folds, and will probably be using a combination of the kite fold, and pad fold for the challenge. For those times when we need extra absorbency, such as naps, we will use two flat diapers.

I plan on using a bucket-style washer to wash diapers. Ideally, I will be washing one load of diapers per day, but I absolutely must wash diapers at least every other day. We will be on-the-go more than normal over the next week, so I should gain a good idea of how well using flats and handwashing works for a busy family without much extra time at the least.

Although I will be better able to say how well I like flat diapers in a week, my response so far is positive. While there is a slight learning curve to the different folds and using a snappi, the execution is quite easy and only marginally more time-consuming than using all-in-one or pocket diapers.

I’ll be updating frequently over the coming week on how the Flats and Handwashing Challenge is going for us.

First flat application. Or ‘Look, I turned a square into an actual diaper!’



Leave a Reply

Categories

