Posted by: Amanda | May 23, 2011

Flats and Handwashing Challenge: Day I

When I decided to do the Flats and Handwashing Challenge, I realized exactly what I was signing myself up for – but I failed to consider that May 23-30, 2011 is going to be a pretty busy week for us, with much more time than usual spent away from home. We spent seven hours away from home today – running errands, napping,  and changing diapers out of our car. I can say honestly that the difference between our away-from-home pocket diapers and using flat diapers in a cover was miniscule. I pre-loaded the first couple of changes:  a padfolded flat in a Flip cover. After we used those first few diapers, I found that it was not difficult to padfold the diaper while sitting in the car. I did not get a chance to wash any diapers today, so I will be doing a load tomorrow.

The totals for today:

  • Number of diapers used:  11.
  • Number of covers used:  4.
  • Since I have not mentioned exactly who I am diapering before this point:  Gabriel still wears a diaper at night, which may or may not be wet in the morning. Joshua is diapered full time, though we do some elimination communication.

Random Flat Fact that I learned today:  They are handy to have in the car for multiple uses. Gabriel managed to spill his drink directly on the seat part of his car seat, so I folded up a flat, and sat it in the seat to keep him from getting wet. This was not the first time that I have needed to soak up a spill in a car seat, but the flat diaper was the trimmest, easiest solution to date.

I encourage you to check out the experiences of others who are participating in the challenge, particularly my sponsor, Ashley of Monkey Bunns.

Leave a Reply

Categories

