Posted by: Amanda | May 29, 2011

Flats and Handwashing Challenge: Day VII

As I write this, there is less than an hour left of today – so the Flats and Handwashing Challenge is nearly complete! I’ll still be using flats after the challenge is finished, but I’m looking forward to my washer doing the “dirty work” of cleaning the diapers again.

I washed diapers in the bath tub today in hopes of speeding up the process, since I can only wash about seven diapers at a time in the bucket-washer that I had been using. Overall, the tub was wonderful in so far as it did save me a lot of time since there were so many diapers to be washed, but I think that no method of hand washing diapers is going to be perfect in every way.

The weather cooperated for a while today before the rain hit, allowing me to hang some diapers outside for a bit, then I had to get a little more creative in order to speed up the diapers’ dry time. I saw mentioned earlier this week that hanging diapers on a ceiling fan is a good way to speed up the process, and it worked wonderfully. The diapers that I dried by that method were dry in about three hours, as opposed to the eight hours (or more) that it takes diapers to dry if I just hang them over the shower in the bathroom. And I cannot really blame my husband, JR, for not caring for diapers hanging from our ceiling fan:

The quickest way that I found to dry diapers, however, was by draping them over our box fan. Diapers dried in that manner were ready to use again about twenty to thirty minutes later. The method only dried one diaper at a time, but that’s not much longer than it takes diapers to dry in the dryer!

I’ll be posting an in-depth summary of my experience with the Flats and Handwashing Challenge later this week, but I would also like to draw your attention to a couple of my favorite stories of others doing the challenge:

  • Milk Bubbles – This family did the Flats and Handwashing Challenge by re-purposing household items, so the cost of diapering supplies was nothing!
  • Pedal Powered Family – The Flats and Handwashing Challenge as done on the road, while on a year-long bike tour!

The totals for today:

  • Number of diapers used:  12.
  • Number of covers used:  3.



Responses

  1. I found myself giggling at the picture of the diapers drying on the fan =) I’m thinking about cloth diapering and your posts about it really helps me on that decision! Thanks for your input!

  2. […] to dry flats outside, as opposed to last year, when it rained nearly every day of the challenge and I had to find inventive methods of drying our diapers. Of course, that’s not to say I didn’t get a little inventive in finding ways to get […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

