Posted by: Amanda | June 2, 2011

Fifth Anniversary

Today is the fifth anniversary of when J.R. and I were joined in the sacrament of holy matrimony. Five years. The time seems so short, and, at the same time, like a lifetime ago.

It has been such an eventful time:  so much has happened, so much has changed. Although we are not completely different people than we were five years ago, we have both changed, and grown up, immeasurably. We have been through a lot:  two babies, loss of loved ones, unemployment/underemployment, new jobs, health issues, two moves, and probably some other experiences that are not coming to mind right now.  It has not always been easy, but we have done it all, together.

I, Jerry, take you, Amanda, to be my wife.

I promise to be true to you in good times and in bad, in sickness and in health.

I will love you and honor you all the days of my life.

I, Amanda, take you, Jerry, to be my husband.

I promise to be true to you in good times and in bad, in sickness and in health.

I will love you and honor you all the days of my life.

When we said our vows, we were aware that all marriages have the “good times” and the “bad times,” that most people experience alternating periods of “sickness” and “health,” but I did not expect to see it all within the first several years.

Our marriage has not been exactly how we imagined – it has been so much more. We have been blessed with two healthy, beautiful boys. We are healthy overall. We have a home. Ultimately, we are not wanting for anything that we truly need.

We have come so far, and learned so much, over the past five years.

I look forward to what the next five, ten, twenty years and beyond will bring us. Happy Anniversary, love!

Marriage Vows

Leave a Reply

Categories

