Posted by: Amanda | November 13, 2011

Listen to music AND write?

Today, I’m going to respond to the November 3 NABLOPOMO writing prompt: Can you listen to music while you write?

It depends on the type of music. If it’s instrumental, then, yes, I probably can do both things at the same time. If it has vocals, however, I cannot do both. Instead of writing, I’ll find myself singing along, or at least listening to the words. I also have a difficult time writing when people are around me. I spent a great deal of time as a college student shut away from my family, because I just couldn’t get anything done when I was in the midst of them. It was easier for me to work in the college computer lab, but most people there were also working or respectful of the fact that many people there were working.

Leave a Reply

Categories

