Posted by: Amanda | February 5, 2012

Debate with the Danielles: Birth Control for Teenagers

Happenings of the Harper Household

Hosted by Danielle B. & Danielle H.

THE MOST IMPORTANT RULE
Please respect each others opinions. This means no bashing of other bloggers in comments on their posts. Kind words and genuine questions are encouraged. If you strongly disagree with someone else the place to address your view point is in a post on your own blog. If we find that you have blatantly disregarded this you will be removed from the linky.

TOPIC
Birth Control for Teenage Daughters: Yay or Nay? What do YOU say?

Nay.

At this point in time I do not have a daughter, but I was a teenager not so long ago. I am also a member of the approximately 5% of the population that did not engage in premarital sex. Spoiler: my parents didn’t give me contraception as a teenager. Between the health risks (my parents have been into alternative medicine for the majority of my life), and the moral issues surrounding birth control, they never would have. And I would never choose birth control for myself, based on the health concerns alone. Thus, I would never want one of my hypothetical daughters to be on birth control.

Of the women I knew as a teenager, not a single one whose parents made birth control available to them refrained from having sex. Of course, these young women may not have refrained from having sex no matter what their parents did, but I could not help noticing the possible correlation between the two, even as a teenager myself. My parents did not try to help me find contraception, instead they taught me Christian morals/principles. Even though statistics tell us that the majority of people have sex before they are married, the fact remains: not everyone does. I believe that if we do not try to help our children remain chaste, and are instead “preparing for the inevitable time that they will have sex before they are married,” then we are sending them conflicting messages. In my mind, raising my hypothetical daughter with the belief that she should not engage in sex before marriage and then giving her birth control would be similar to raising her with a belief that guns should not be kept in people’s homes, and then helping her obtain a concealed weapons permit “just in case” (not that I’m opposed to guns, I just needed to come up with another topic that people are passionate about for comparison). I fully recognize that my children may not remain virgins until marriage, but I will not waiver in my belief, or how I portray my beliefs to them:  God wants them to remain chaste. Yes, it may be very difficult, but it is possible.

One of the main reasons that I see for giving teenage girls birth control boils down to the quality of men in general, i.e. “she may think she’s in love and give in to her boyfriend.” As the mother of boys, this weighs heavily on my mind. My husband and I have a duty to raise our sons to become young men who will respect their dates. Men who recognize that the risks of premarital sex affect both parties. Like young women, young men should respect themselves, their date, their future wife and children (if they are to be married), and the wisdom of those who have gone before them enough to refrain from intercourse, even if it is the most difficult thing they have ever done in their lives.

I’d like to invite you to check out the other responses this week, and in particular, Mandi of Catholic Newlywed’s response, which incited me to write my own.

 

Additionally, a topic suggestion for the Danielles:  Since it’s such a passionate topic to so many, I’d like to know how other families feel about guns in homes, and their reasoning.

Responses

  1. Love it! Thanks for joining in on the debate!


Leave a Reply

Categories

