Posted by: Amanda | February 14, 2012

Our Love Story: St. Valentine’s Day 2012

1. How long have you and your significant other been together?
My husband and I have officially been a couple for about seven and a half years. We’ve been friends much longer, however.
2. How did you meet? {What’s your “love” story?}
One of these days, I will write the story (or, more likely, a series of stories) of how we met and eventually became a couple, gently weaving together tales from childhood, high school, and college. I did write one of those stories, which happened when we were in fourth grade, last year.
3. If married, how long have you been married? If not, is this the guy you hope to marry? {do tell}
We were married on June 2, 2006, which was a little over five and half years ago.
4. If you are married, where did you get married at? Big or small wedding?  If not, where would you like to get married? And will it be big or small?
JR and I were married in a big Catholic mass, which we were fortunate to have celebrated by a wonderful priest that we developed a relatively close relationship with during our engagement, in a beautiful church. Both of our families, and many of our friends, were local-ish, so about four hundred and fifty people attended.
Exchange of vows
5. Do you have any nick-names that you call one another? Do share!
My husband’s parents gave him his actual name with the intention of calling him JR (a nickname). Calling JR by his given name is reserved for special occasions. We rotate through rather traditional couple-nicknames for one another at home, otherwise.
6. Name 3 things you love most about your honey.
I can never answer these questions. Three things that I love most? I love much more about my husband than three things!
7. Tell us how he proposed? Or your ideal proposal?
I wrote about how my husband proposed in 2007. Short story:  On July 4, he wrote “Marry Me” with glow sticks in his lawn.
8. Is he a flowers and teddy bear kind of guy for v-day, or strawberries, champagne, and rose petals?
Mostly, neither. Though I believe that his gift-giving tendencies are more “flowers and teddy bears” of the two.
9. Are you a sunset dinner on the beach kind of girl, or pop a movie in and relax on the couch?
Movie on the couch. Dinner on the beach is pretty wonderful as well.
10. Tell us one thing you’d like to do with your significant one day. If you could do anything? Go anywhere?
We both look forward to returning to Glacier National Park and Yellowstone National Park one day, which was where we went on our honey moon.
In terms of going anywhere, however, one day we hope to take a long vacation and travel over Europe and to Rome.
11. Tell us what you plan on doing on this Valentine’s Day.
We’ll probably be watching a movie together and order take-out for the occasion. We’ve never been big on celebrating Valentine’s Day.
12. Are you asking for anything this Valentine’s day?
No, neither of us are big on gifts. I don’t say this in a “because we’re so detached from worldly goods” way, but rather, “gifts are neither of our love languages” way.
13. Give us one piece of advice of keeping a relationship strong and full of love.
God. Prayer. Forgiveness. For a relationship to be strong, partners cannot get hung up on one another’s errors. We have to forgive and move on. God and prayer help me a lot with this.
14.  Show us a picture of what love means to you.
This is where I should insert a photo of my husband volunteering to wrangle our sons after a long twelve days straight of work so that I can do something that he doesn’t really care about, and probably doesn’t really need to be done. He wants me to do it though because he knows that it brings me joy. Unfortunately, such photos do not exist.
The longer I’m married, the more I realize that the greatest love is shown in the sacrifices that we make for those we love.
Responses

  1. Hi there, landed on your blog from the “our love story” link-up, which was a while I know! Although I didn’t participate I still loved reading everyone’s love story 😉

    sweetest story and great photos!

    Following you now on twitter- come check out my blog and follow me if you like it too, thanks!

  2. Wow, your wedding was huge! And that dress? Gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

Categories

