Posted by: Amanda | May 31, 2012

Flats Challenge 2012: Final Thoughts

Having successfully completed the Flats and Handwashing Challenge this year, I think I can summarize my realizations into a three main points:

  • Using flat cloth diapers and handwashing is doable. I’m certain that many people reading about the Flats and Handwashing Challenge think to themselves “I could never do that.” To which I say: if you had to handwash diapers in order to keep your baby clean, dry, and healthy, wouldn’t you find a way to make it work? Of course I’m not going to be handwashing diapers all of the time with a washer in my home, but I will whole-heartedly endorse this system, at least on a part-time basis, for anyone considering cloth diapers without regular access to a washer or dryer.
  • In general, I think that parents who are handwashing diapers will be more likely to potty train their children earlier. I say this because both of my children took drastic strides in this area of their lives during the Flats Challenge (though in different years). There is a small chance that it could have been a coincidence, but let’s face it: I was highly motivated to have my children use fewer diapers when I was handwashing them.
  • I’m thankful for the experience. There’s nothing like going without something that I sometimes take for granted to help me realize how good my life really is. At this point in my life, my family has the immense blessing of owning our own washer and dryer, but I recognize that this may not always be the case. It’s nice to have gained this knowledge should I ever find myself in an emergency situation, or other situation in which knowledge of how to handwash may be useful, such as with: traveling, camping, or if our washer happens to break down at some point.

20120531-003657.jpg

Glad to be free of diapers and trainers during the day, thanks for the extra nudge, Flats and Handwashing Challenge!

In case you haven’t been following along all week, the driving force behind the Flats and Handwashing Challenge is to help those in need of diapers and promote a viable alternative to disposable diapers. I will be making a small donation to Giving Diapers, Giving Hope, and encourage anyone interested in helping families in need of cloth diapers, so that they can affordably diaper their babies, to do the same.*

* I am in no way affiliated with Giving Diapers, Giving Hope, and receive no compensation of any kind for mentioning the organization on my blog. I am just an individual that wants to see struggling families with young children in diapers be able to diaper their children in a safe and healthy manner, as well as spend their money on necessities other than diapers.

Leave a Reply

Categories

