Posted by: Amanda | November 6, 2012

Election Day

Today Gabriel, Joshua, and I voted. Since the day is mine as a stay-at-home parent, we went around 1:30pm. Over the three and a half years that I’ve lived here, I have determined that this is the perfect time because there are never more than a couple of other people there to vote at the same time. We avoid any lunch break rush that may happen, but vote before school lets out. I should probably mention that the only time I have ever waited to vote in my life was the 2004 presidential election, I went on my way to work around 7:00 in the morning, as did many other people, and was still out within fifteen minutes or so. I have feelings on the election, of course (President! Six proposals in Michigan!), but no desire to discuss them any further right now.

After voting, the boys and I ran errands, visited with family a bit, and made fajitas for dinner. Then everyone watched Megamind (some how we had missed this movie), and the boys went to bed. I plan to intermittently check election results on my phone while doing otherwise ordinary things for the rest of the night.

Now, a few photos of my children outside at the polls earlier:

20121106-212854.jpg

20121106-212913.jpg

Fortunately, they held still much better during the actual voting process than they did for these photos.

20121106-212930.jpg

20121106-212938.jpg
Neither of them is yet sold on the importance of this civic duty. Still, they called their grandparents to tell them that they “voted” today.

Leave a Reply

Categories

