Posted by: Amanda | November 12, 2012

Recent Reads, Volume I

I should probably preface this post by saying that it’s rare for me to find a book that I don’t like. I’m not sure if this is because I’m good at not starting books I wouldn’t like or because I truly like most books. It’s probably a combination of both.

The Hunger Games Trilogy
I read all three of the books over about four days. They are quick reads, but also the type of book that I didn’t want to put down. I enjoyed The Hunger Games and Catching Fire equally, but was less fond of Mockingjay. All of the books dealt with topics that require a certain level of maturity, but I felt that Mockingjay was even weightier than the first two. JR and I read these books at the same time. He really enjoyed The Hunger Games and Catching Fire, but actually disliked Mockingjay and how the trilogy ended enough that he wished that he hadn’t bothered to read them. Readers have high expectations for how a trilogy/series ends. If you ask me what my favorite Lord of the Rings book is, I’ll tell you that it’s The Return of the King, and I’m not going to pretend that it’s not related to the fact that Tolkien ended the trilogy well. I can’t say the same for Mockingjay, because the end of the book felt very rushed. I still think that The Hunger Games trilogy is an entertaining, worthwhile read.

What Alice Forgot
Overall, I have very positive feelings toward this book. I read the entire book in a couple of days because I didn’t want to put it down. The messages that I took away from this book make me want to recommend it to every woman from my generation. It’s definitely my favorite book on this list. Go read it for yourself if you haven’t already.

Gone Girl
I had mixed feelings about this one. On one hand, the plot was well done, and it was the type of book that I had trouble putting down once I got into it (which happened fairly quickly). But on the other hand, I couldn’t help being disturbed by the plot and ending. So to summarize my view: well written and even enjoyable, just not my usual cup of tea so I probably won’t be seeking out any more of Gillian Flynn’s novels. However, if you like thrillers with some suspense, you’ll probably enjoy this.

The Night Circus
This book moved slowly and jumped around a lot. I never reached the “I don’t want to put this book down” stage until I was around 80% finished with it. Still, I enjoyed the whole book, even the many slow parts. The book’s ending and manner in which everything eventually came together was splendid. I want to visit the Night Circus now. Since the book moved slowly and jumped around so much, I think it will be better suited to some as a movie. When/if the movie comes out, I will see it and will probably be recommending it to everyone.

Have you read anything good lately? I’m always looking for a good read, so please do share!

Leave a Reply

Categories

